Committee structure

Full Council

Council meetings involve all elected County Councillors. The Full Council is responsible for approving the Council's:-


·         Policy Framework

·         Budget

·         Strategic Direction


Also, Full Council meetings will deal with overarching issues where it is felt that a majority decision from all Councillors is required.


The public is welcome to attend full Council meetings which commence at 7pm at Catmose however, on occasion, you may be asked to exit the meeting whilst confidential and/or exempt information is considered.



The Cabinet comprises the Leader of the Council plus up to nine elected County Councillors.


The Cabinet prepares Council policies and budgets and is responsible for most day-to-day decision making. The Cabinet also provides leadership and accountability for the local community. Each of the Cabinet Members are responsible for a specified policy area.


The Cabinet works to a Forward Plan that sets out matters which the Leader of the Council believes will be the subject of a key decision to be taken by the Cabinet.



The Council will appoint the Scrutiny Panels to discharge the functions conferred by Section 21 of the Local Government Act 2000 or any regulations made under Section 32 of the Local Government Act 2000.  Scrutiny Panels will:


a) review and/or scrutinise decisions made or actions taken in connection with the discharge of any of the Council’s functions;

b) review, develop or propose policies in connection with the discharge of any of the Council's functions;

c) make reports and/or recommendations to the full Council and/or the Cabinet and/or any policy, joint or Area Committee in connection with the discharge of any functions;

d) consider any matter affecting the area or its inhabitants; and

e) exercise the right to call-in, for reconsideration, decisions made but not yet implemented by the Cabinet and/or any joint or Area Committees.


The Council will appoint the Committees set out in the left hand column of the table Responsibility for Council Functions in Part 3 of the Constitution to discharge the functions described in column 3 of that table.